Ode to a Viridescent Dream

My days don’t start til I see those gems behind her lids

My breath can’t catch without her givin’ me a kiss

And every day I go without her touch my heart  starts to split

Ipanema’s got nothin’ on my chick

The white sand that glitters with crushed glass can’t compare

To the crème of her skin or the silk of her hair

To the blazing emerald greens looking straight through

Or the soft pink lips that smile the way hers do

When she speaks the world goes mute

Just me and her and the gentlest tune

Waves rolling and crashing,

Water carrying me away

Way past Ipanema

Into her embrace

Photo by Yury Prokopenko

Reflecting

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

