Good Morning, Little Birds

I awoke from a deep, deep sleep

To the sound of a chirp, chirp, cheep

Coming from the secret keep

‘Tween the leaves of my American Beech

 

Climbed to the top of the tree

With my glasses so that I could see

The difference amongst the three

Little birds perched next to me

 

In a nest little chicks of blue

And a grey sort of shaded hue

One boy and a girl or two

Sweet tweets calling out for food

 

Quick Mommy bird came to land

Her talons digging in my hand

I had not conjured up a plan

To deal with this angered ma’am

 

‘Sweet Ma, I only wanted to see

Little birds singing in my tree,

I’m sorry to have caused a scene

So, offense was not what I mean.’

 

Momma bird didn’t want to know

Only told me to get and go

‘Good bye little Mary, Ann, Joe.

I was sorry to disturb your home.’

 

From my window I try to spy

Momma bird as she flies on by

Through the glass I wave goodbye

‘Fore climbing the tree for a friendly, ‘hi!’

 

Flâneur

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Sumyanna says:

    Wonderful post. Really loved this!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. caillenjames says:

      Thank you very much, Sumyanna, I’m glad you enjoyed it.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Sumyanna says:

        You’re welcome.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

