Fragile

I once had hoped

You’d be the rope

To lift me to my feet.

Instead this case

You set in place

Has left me incomplete.

 

A fragile crust

Of crystal dust

Has formed atop my skin.

Delicate, crude,

And fractured through–

It’s less than paper-thin.

 

My shell is torn,

And cold, and worn

With tape, I’ve tried to mend.

But soon the strain

From all this pain,

In two, will make it rend.

 

Fragile

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Woman in progress says:

    pure talent right there and speaks volumes as to what the writer would like the reader to understand about their emotions.. once again well done!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. caillenjames says:

      Thank you, so much, for the high praise. I’m glad you enjoyed reading it.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Very powerful! I loved it and it hit so many emotions! Thank you x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. caillenjames says:

      Thank you for taking the time to read and comment.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

