When A Magpie Falls in Love

Glistening,

Glittering,

Twinkling bright;

Flashing enough to catch my eye.

Brilliantly glowing–

A glorious sight.

Grasped in my talons.

I take to flight.

‘She’s mine!’ I whistle a triumphant cry.

Hoarding my treasure from thieving sights

And those who’d dull her radiant shine.

Imprisoned here, I buff and burnish

But, no matter how much I polish her surface

Her light it fades, her coat is rusted,

Even when she’s glossed and dusted.

So, out of my nest I take to the sky

To find a gem who’s glimmer won’t die.

 

Twinkle

2 Comments Add yours

  1. WovenEclipse says:

    Wow, that’s a great poem! 🙂 loved the title too

    Liked by 1 person

    1. caillenjames says:

      Thanks for taking the time to read and comment; I’m glad you enjoyed it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

