Love Lesson

She thought she’d give me a lesson in love

I knew I’d teach her all about heart-break

She wanted to show me what it meant to yearn

But I only wanted to play

She said she’d show me what it was to share

Instead I gave her a lesson in grieving

She thought she was an expert when it came to love

She didn’t know I was a master at leaving

 

 

Expert

9 Comments Add yours

  1. I went through most of your work. You write brilliant poetry. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. caillenjames says:

      Thank you very much. I’m glad you enjoyed it. You as well–your poem was beautiful.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. caillenjames says:

      Thank you, Syedah, I’m glad you enjoyed it.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Jerome L. Allen says:

    Very clever!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. caillenjames says:

      Thank you, Jerome, for taking the time to read and comment. I’m glad you enjoyed it.

      Like

    1. caillenjames says:

      Thank you, Mahi. I’m glad you liked it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

