The King and the Badger…it’s a metaphor

I am fierce.

I am strong.

I am king. And she–

A sweet,

Delicate, little thing.

My body exudes strength.

The sight of me invokes fear.

I unfurl.

I strike, and

With my deadly bite,

My fangs sink into her.

My venom unleashed.

She falls at my feet.

Another victim struck down by my spell.

But, oh,

What’s this?

It was all just a trick.

Not conquered.

No. Not in the least.

Delicate little thing

Becomes mighty and mean

With fierce claws I’ve never seen

And smooth dagger-like teeth.

She sinks them into me and I

Am devoured.

 

Fierce

3 Comments Add yours

  1. kirizar says:

    I loved the title in particular–for generations who have not been taught what a metaphor is. I only have one question, why a badger? A mongoose makes more sense to me since they actually fight snakes. (See one can know what a metaphor is, but it never trumps a tendency toward literal mindedness.) I did really like this, even though I apparently only comment to question things.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. caillenjames says:

      I once saw a video of a Honey Badger taking on a King Cobra. There was no greater meaning in the selection of the animal…Also, The King and the Mongoose doesn’t quite have the same ring.
      As always, I enjoy your comments, Kirizar.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. jlallen30 says:

    I love the honey badgers resolve. He doesn’t let anything stand in his way. Even himself. Ive seen that they would chew off a leg if trapped.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

